SNAP Recipients in Four Additional Zip Codes Severely Impacted by Hurricane Florence to Receive Automatic Replacement of SNAP Benefits

October 12, 2018 - The South Carolina Department of Social Services (SCDSS) has announced four additional zip codes eligible to receive automatic replacement of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits under a federal waiver granted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service.

SNAP recipients residing in the following zip codes at the time of Hurricane Florence will automatically receive a replacement of part of their benefits to replace food lost as a result of prolonged power outages. Residents of these zip codes do not need to go to the DSS office to request replacement benefits.

  • Florence County: 29554
  • Georgetown County: 29554
  • Horry County: 29545, 29566, 29582

The amount of replacement benefits each SNAP household will receive is based on their monthly issuance date. The automatic replacement benefits will be available on eligible households’ EBT cards on or before Monday, October 15, 2018.

SNAP recipients residing in areas of Chesterfield, Darlington, Florence, Georgetown, and Horry counties that are not within the zip codes listed below, are still able to apply for a replacement of their September SNAP benefits. If you live in an area affected by flooding from Hurricane Florence AND you suffered a disaster loss, you may go to your local DSS office and file an Affidavit of Loss to request a replacement.

  • Chesterfield County: 29101, 29520, 29584
  • Darlington County: 29593, 29532, 29161
  • Florence County: 29161, 29554, 29583
  • Georgetown County: 29554
  • Horry County: 29511, 29526, 29544, 29545, 29566, 29568, 29569, 29581, 29582

Do you have a complaint regarding services being provided to a child by a state agency? Please submit your complaint by phone (1-800-206-1957) or an electronic submission form here with the South Carolina Department of Children's Advocacy.