
 

 
 

SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES                    WWW.DSS.SC.GOV 
P.O. BOX 1520 COLUMBIA, SC 29202                    

  
 

Dear Applicant: 
 
Records of the Department of Social Services show that you are certified to conduct adoption investigations and/or 
to take relinquishments and consents for the purpose of adoption and that your certificate renewal is due.  State 
regulations require that we receive your application for recertification 30 days prior to the expiration of the 
current certificate.  Please find the following documents associated with the CI recertification application: 

• Application 

• DSS form 2612, Request for Criminal Background Check (Please ensure you sign) 

• DSS Form 3072, Release of Information (Please ensure you sign and have witnessed) 

• Questions and answers regarding the program 

• State Statute & Regulations governing this program 

• Adoptive Family Pre-Placement Investigation Guide 
 
In order to apply for recertification, please submit the following materials to: 
South Carolina Department of Social Services, Direct Adoption Services, 
P.O. Box 1520, Columbia, South Carolina 29202-1520 
Or  
Email to Rebecca.Carrier@dss.sc.gov 

• Completed application for recertification 

• Signed DSS Forms 2612 and 3072 

• Current letters of reference from three people who can attest to your reputation in the community (at 
least one of these must be a professional reference).  Letters must be original, dated within the last 30 
days, signed by the reference, and include an address and telephone number where they can be reached). 

• If less than 2 years’ experience writing home studies, please include a letter from the person who will be 
supervising your work.  This letter should include their contact information, Certified Investigator number, 
signed, and dated.  Please note that this letter can be used as a letter of reference as well. 

• Check or money order for the appropriate recertification fee ($15 *Note there is no fee for DSS 
employees who are only getting recertified as part of their job requirements). 

• Documentation of adoption-related continuing education (10 hours within the past year). Documentation 
of adoption-related continuing education (25 hours within the past three years).    Unrelated training on 
issues such as management, administrative procedures, etc. will not be accepted.  If you are in doubt as to 
the acceptability of the training, you may submit a written explanation as to why you think it is relevant.  
Continuing education must have proof of completed training ie: certificate, print out of registration or 
letter from the instructor and be clearly documented as to the title of the training, content, number of 
hours, and date it occurred. 
 

Upon receipt of this information, we will process your application.  You may be required to submit additional 
information in order to support your application.  If you have any questions, please call Rebecca Carrier at (803) 
898-7637 or email at Rebecca.Carrier@dss.sc.gov. 
 
Sincerely, 
Rebecca Carrier, MSW, Adoption Supervisor 
State Office Adoptions 


