The Central Registry of Child Abuse and Neglect is a statewide listing of persons who were found to have abused or neglected a child by the family court, a criminal court, as a result of an administrative appeals process, or as a result of an investigation into abuse on an out-of-home setting, as provided by statute. The Central Registry is maintained by the South Carolina Department of Social Services. Information contained in DSS records and the Central Registry is confidential by state and federal statute and can be accessed only as permitted by law.
To ensure that people who have been determined to be a threat to children are not employed in certain professions involving the care and supervision of children. The Central Registry also provides data about the incidence and prevalence of child abuse and neglect in South Carolina.
When the request is received, DSS will search the Central Registry to determine if the individual is listed and report the findings to the person or persons authorized to receive the information.
Information in the Central Registry can be accessed when the individual gives written permission for DSS to release the information. Certain professions and licenses require that a person be screened against the Central Registry before being hired or approved.
Under federal law, when a state is planning to license a foster or adoptive home, the state must request a screening of any other state’s Central Registry where prospective foster or adoptive parent, or an adult in the home, may have lived in the preceding 5 years prior to issuing a license.
Requests for a screening of the Central Registry must be made in writing to the South Carolina DSS using the DSS Form 3072 - Consent to Release Information. This form must be completed by the person who is requesting the screening. It must be signed and the signature witnessed and it may be notarized. There is a fee for this service.
The Adam Walsh Act requires states to check child abuse and neglect registries in all states in which any prospective foster or adoptive parent and any other adult living in the home has resided in the preceding five years, before the prospective foster or adoptive parent may be finally approved for placement of a child. There is currently a fee of $8.00 to be paid to SC for each screening requested.
For questions concerning the consent to release child protection Central Registry information or the Adam Walsh Act, please contact Barbara Atiba or Grace Riley at (803) 898-7318, Fax # (803) 898-7641.
The DSS Form 3072 - Consent to Release Information can be used to request screening.