
Duty to Report
Computer technicians may have the occasion to 
see images of children that appear to depict a 
child being exploited and/or abused. If you are 
a computer technician in South Carolina and at 
least 18 years old, you are a mandated reporter 
and are required by law to report suspected 
child abuse or neglect under S.C. Code Ann.       
§ 63-7-310.

As a mandated reporter:

• You must make a report when you receive
information in your professional capacity that  
gives you reason to believe a child has been
or may be abused or neglected as defined in
S.C. Code Ann. § 63-7-20.

• You do not have to have conclusive proof;
your duty to report is triggered when you
have a reason to believe that a child depicted
in a photo or video has been or may be
abused or neglected. By making a report, you
are not accusing anyone of anything; you are
only requesting an investigation into your
concerns involving the photo or video.

• Reporting to a supervisor or person in charge
of an institution, school, facility, or agency
does not relieve you of your individual duty to
report. Your duty to report is not superseded
by an internal investigation within an
institution, school, facility, or agency.

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-850 also requires the 
following of computer technicians regarding 
images containing sexually explicit pictures of 
minors:

“[A]ny computer technician working with a 
computer who views an image of a child younger 
than eighteen years of age or appearing to 
be younger than eighteen years of age who is 
engaging in sexual conduct, sexual performance, 
or a sexually explicit posture must report the 
name and address of...the owner or person in 
possession of the computer to law enforcement 
officials.....”

Where to Report
Reports may be made to DSS or law enforcement.  
DSS is responsible for protecting children who 
have been abused by their parents or guardians.  
If you have seen images with sexually explicit 
pictures of minors, you must make a report to 
law enforcement as required by S.C. Code Ann.           
§ 16-3-850.

Confidentiality 
DSS and law enforcement are required by state 
law to keep the reporter’s identity confidential.  
S.C. Code Ann. § 63-7-330. Release of the 
reporter’s identity is only allowed under very 
limited circumstances, for example, when 
information is needed for conducting a criminal 
investigation arising from the report or upon a 
finding that the reporter knowingly made a false 
report.

Immunity from Liability 
Mandated reporters are protected from civil 
and criminal liability, as long as they make the 
report in good faith. The law creates a rebuttable 
presumption that mandated reporters have 
reported in good faith. S.C. Code Ann. § 63-7-390.   

Penalties for Failure to Report
A mandated reporter who knowingly fails to make 
a report may be charged with a misdemeanor and 
if convicted, fined up to $500 or imprisoned up to 
six months, or both. S.C. Code Ann. § 63-7-410.

Additional Information 
For a detailed overview of mandated reporter 
requirements and how to make a report, see the 
Mandated Reporter Guide found on the Children’s  
Law Center website at http://childlaw.sc.edu.

To schedule a free training on mandated 
reporting, contact the Children’s Law Center at  
803-777-1646.

June 2018     http://childlaw.sc.edu

Children’s Law Center
University of South Carolina  School of Law

Computer Technicians as Mandated Reporters
Understanding your duty to report suspected child abuse and neglect

DSS Brochure 1952 (JAN 19)


